Big East adds five schools to conference

The Big East conference is prepared to add Boise State and San Diego State as football only members and Houston, Central Florida and SMU for  all . The five schools will most likely join in 2013.

The main reason this is happening for both sides is money. The Big East is doing the best it can to keep their BCS automatic bid and for to hopefully extend their TV contract. For the teams, they believe they can make more money with the potential new TV deal and also to gain access to the automatic bid they have been crazing for.

As for basketball, this doesn’t help out too much. UCF, Houston, and SMU are not up to the basketball standards as Syracuse, Pittsburgh, and West Virginia are. Hopefully, the Big East can find at least one program (Memphis?) that can step in and offer and quality basketball team.

Stay tuned to SlapTheSign for the latest information. Also, please like us on Facebook (Slap The Sign) and Twitter (@SlapTheSign).

Tags: Big East Big East Expansion Boise State College Basketball College Football Espn Houston New Big East News San Diego State SMU

comments powered by Disqus