Te’o, Floyd, and Eifert and others win All American Awards

A few talented and intelligent Irish players received multiple national awards that recognize their talents.

Here’s what each player was awarded for.

Manti Te’o- second-team All-American by Walter Camp, Rivals, Phil Steele, SI.com and AP and he is one the Capital One Academic All-America second team.

Michael Floyd-  second-team All-American by Phil Steele and honorable mention by both SportsIllustrated.com and Pro Football Weekly

Tyler Eifert- first team All American team by Walter Camp Football Foundation , second-team choice by the Associated Press, third-team from Rivals and Phil Steele, and honorable mention status from Pro Football Weekly and SportsIllustrated.com

Obviously a well deserved lineup of awards for these players. Two out of the three will be returning next year and look to improve off of their great seasons. I wish nothing but the best for Floyd as he moves on to the NFL Draft.

Other notable awards-

“threeNotre Dame freshmen – defensive end Aaron Lynch, defensive end Stephon Tuitt and kick returner George Atkinson III – were selected to various 2011 freshman All-America teams.” -und.com

Let’s hope these players develop even more from Brian Kelly and mature as players even more. I know this season is not over yet. But I am very excited for next year’s team!

Topics: Ap All American, Manti T'eo, Michael Floyd, Ncaa Football, News, Notre Dame Wins Awards, Tyler Eifert

Want more from Slap the Sign?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

TEAMFeed More Fighting Irish news from the Fansided Network

Hot on the Web From golf.com