Mar 11, 2012; Atlantic City, NJ, USA; Xavier Musketeers guard Mark Lyons (10) drives to the basket during the second half against the St. Bonaventure Bonnies in the finals of the 2012 Atlantic 10 Tournament at Boardwalk Hall. St. Bonaventure Bonnies defeat the Xavier Musketeers 67-56. Mandatory Credit: Jim O

Getting to know Xavier

Many of you out there may know Xavier as an underdog team that usually makes the NCAA Tournament. But just how good are they? Let’s take a look at this years Xavier team.

Roster: Who do they have?

No. Name eligibility Yr. Pos. Height Ht. Wt. Hometown (High School)
2 Amos, Landen 3 SO Guard 75 6-3 180 Chicago, Ill. (Mount Carmel)
0 Davis, Dee 1 FR Guard 72 6-0 160 Bloomington, Ind. (South)
15 Dougan, Greg 3 SO Guard 76 6-4 170 Greensburg, Ind. (Greensburg Community)
32 Frease, Kenny 7 SR Center 84 7-0 275 Massillon, Ohio (Perry)
52 Holloway, Tu 7 SR Guard 72 6-0 190 Hempstead, N.Y. (Harmony Community School (Cincinnati))
10 Lyons, Mark 5 JR Guard 73 6-1 188 Schenectady, N.Y. (Brewster (N.H.) Academy)
20 Martin, Justin 1 FR Forward 78 6-6 205 Indianapolis, Ind. (Lawrence North and Mountain State (W.Va.) Academy)
44 McKenzie, Griffin 3 SO Forward 81 6-9 240 Cincinnati, Ohio (Moeller)
31 Philmore, Isaiah 5 JR Forward 80 6-8 230 Bel Air, Md. (John Carroll School)
12 Redford, Brad 5 JR Guard 73 6-1 182 Frankenmuth, Mich. (Frankenmuth)
21 Robinson, Jeff 5 JR Forward 82 6-10 225 Indianapolis, Ind. (Lawrence North)
35 Stenger, Erik 5 JR Forward 80 6-8 205 Cincinnati, Ohio (St. Xavier)
4 Taylor, Travis 5 JR Forward 80 6-8 220 Union, N.J. (Union)
54 Walker, Andre 9 GS Forward 80 6-8 225 Flossmoor, Ill. (Brewster Acad./Homewood-Flossmoor)
5 Wells, Dezmine 1 FR Guard/Forward 77 6-5 215 Raleigh, N.C. (Hargrave Military Academy)

The standout player to me is Tu Holloway. He is a very talented guard that has consistently led his team in points throughout the season. This senior was 4th in CBS’s top 100 players for the 2011-2012 preseason list. I fully expect him to be the go-to-guy in any clutch scenario.

Schedule: What does it mean?

 

2011-12 Xavier Musketeers Schedule
DATE OPPONENT RESULT/TIME RECORD
Fri, Nov 11 1-0 (0-0)
Tue, Nov 15 2-0 (0-0)
Fri, Nov 18 3-0 (0-0)
Fri, Nov 25 4-0 (0-0)
Mon, Nov 28 5-0 (0-0)
Sat, Dec 3 6-0 (0-0)
Wed, Dec 7 7-0 (0-0)
Sat, Dec 10 8-0 (0-0)
Sun, Dec 18 8-1 (0-0)
Thu, Dec 22 8-2 (0-0)
Sat, Dec 24 8-3 (0-0)
Sun, Dec 25 9-3 (0-0)
Sat, Dec 31 9-4 (0-0)
Wed, Jan 4 9-5 (0-1)
Sat, Jan 7 10-5 (1-1)
Wed, Jan 11 11-5 (2-1)
Sat, Jan 14 12-5 (3-1)
Wed, Jan 18 13-5 (4-1)
Sat, Jan 21 13-6 (4-2)
Wed, Jan 25 13-7 (4-3)
Sat, Jan 28 14-7 (5-3)
Wed, Feb 1 15-7 (6-3)
Sat, Feb 4 15-8 (6-3)
Wed, Feb 8 16-8 (7-3)
Sat, Feb 11 16-9 (7-4)
Sat, Feb 18 17-9 (8-4)
Tue, Feb 21 17-10 (8-5)
Sat, Feb 25 18-10 (9-5)
Tue, Feb 28 18-11 (9-6)
Sat, Mar 3 19-11 (10-6)
Fri, Mar 9 20-11 (10-6)
Sat, Mar 10 21-11 (10-6)
Sun, Mar 11 21-12 (10-6)

 

Key wins-   @Vanderbilt, vs. Georgia, vs. Cincinnati,

Key losses- @La Salle, vs Oral Roberts, @Hawaii

They had a decent schedule for being in the Atlantic 10. It is clearly noticeable that they are game-tested. Luckily, so is Notre Dame.

 

 

Be sure to check back in with us as we break down Xavier’s offense on Tuesday! Also, follow us on Twitter and Facebook for the latest updates!

 

Next Fighting Irish Game Full schedule »
Friday, Oct 3131 Oct8:05Vermont CatamountsBuy Tickets

Tags: 2012 Basketball Big East College Basketball Espn FanSided Irish Jack Cooley NCAA Ncaa Basketball Notre Dame Notre Dame Basketball Notre Dame News Slap The Sign Xavier

comments powered by Disqus