Notre Dame Football: Kelly Reworks The Depth Chart


At Wednesday’s post-practice press conference, Notre Dame Football Head Coach Brian Kelly announced several depth chart moves including Notre Dame’s starting Quarterback. It probably was only a matter of time before Kelly appointed Golson as the starter. Beyond the starting Quarterback spot, Kelly named Trumbetti, Onwualu and Riggs to the #1 spot on the depth chart.

Freshman Andrew Trumbetti enrolled early at Notre Dame. In the Spring, he worked with the first team sub-packages for 3rd down and pass rushing situations. But, he clearly rounded himself into more of a 3-down player. However, it probably is not a good sign overall that the Irish could start a Freshman on the Defensive Line.

Onwualu stood out last year on Special Teams. Like former special teams standouts Austin Collinsworth and Bennett Jackson, it was clear that Onwualu had a knack for excellent physical play. It may be surprising. However, Matthias Farley went from scout team Wide Receiver to starting Safety on a team that played in the National Title.

Here is the “two-deep” as it stands today. It is subject to change and will likely change.


  • Quarterback – Everett Golson (Sr.), Malik Zaire (So.)
  • Running Back – Tarean Folston (So.), Cam McDaniel (Sr.)
  • Wide Receiver – Will Fuller (So.), DaVaris Daniels (Sr.)
  • Slot Receiver – Amir Carlisle (Sr.), CJ Prosise (Jr.)
  • Wide Receiver – Chris Brown (Jr.), Corey Robinson (So.)
  • Tight End – Ben Koyack (Sr.), Durham Smythe (So.) 
  • Left Tackle – Ronnie Stanley (Jr.), Mike McGlinchey (So.)
  • Left Guard – Matt Hegarty (Sr.), Conor Hanratty (Sr.)
  • Center – Nick Martin (Sr.), Mark Harrell (Jr.) 
  • Right Guard – Christian Lombard (5th.), Colin McGovern (So.)
  • Right Tackle – Steve Elmer (So.), Quenton Nelson (Fr.) 


  • Weakside Defensive End – Andrew Trumbetti (Fr.), Romeo Okwara (Jr.)
  • Nose Guard – Jarron Jones (Jr.), Justin Utupo (5th.)
  • Defensive Tackle – Sheldon Day (Jr.), Johnathan Bonner (Fr.)
  • Strongside Defensive End – Ishaq Williams (Sr.), Issac Rochell (So.)
  • SAM Linebacker – James Onwualu (So.), John Turner (Jr.)
  • Mike Linebacker – Joe Schmidt (Sr.), Nyles Morgan (Fr.)
  • Will Linebacker – Jaylon Smith (So.), Greer Martini (Fr.)
  • Cornerback – KeiVarae Russell (Jr.), Devin Butler (So.)
  • Cornerback – Cody Riggs (5th.), Cole Luke (So.)
  • Strong Safety – Austin Collinsworth (5th.), Matthias Farley (Sr.)
  • Free Safety – Max Redfield (So.), Eliar Hardy (Sr.)