Notre Dame Releases First 2017 Depth Chart

SOUTH BEND, IN - NOVEMBER 19: Chris Finke /

Two graduate transfers listed as starters; Trumbetti co-starting at two spots

Notre Dame released its first depth chart of the 2017 season on Tuesday. Although a depth chart is hypothetical, the new lineup revealed a few interesting tidbits about where the 2017 team stands.

Notre Dame’s game notes feature the depth chart.

No Suprise At Quarterback, Running Back and Offensive Line

As expected, Brandon Wimbush will start for the first time against Temple. Ian Book and Montgomery VanGorder back up Wimbush respectively.

At Running Back, newly minted Captain Josh Adams leads the group. Brian Kelly lists Dexter Williams and Tony Jones behind Adams as co-starters.

Mike McGlinchey, Quenton Nelson, Sam Mustipher, Alex Bars and Tommy Kraemer will start for the Irish along the Offensive Line. Freshman Robert Hainsey and Josh Lugg fill in at in the two-deep.

More from Slap the Sign

Wide Receiver Group Still Up in the Air

Freddie Canteen (or Chris Finke), Cam Smith and Equanimeous St. Brown appeared on the chart as the starting receivers. Smith and St. Brown performed well during camp. Their inclusion as starters does not surprise many. However, Canteen did not impress during the open viewing periods. Canteen caught only 6 passes at Michigan. His talent remains extremely unproven.

Durham Smythe Listed as Starter

5th-year Senior Durham Smythe earned starting honors over Junior Alize Jones. Many expect Jones to perform extremely well this season. However, his starting spot waits until he shows it on the field.

Senior Andrew Trumbetti Co-Starter at Two Spots

Trumbetti charged forward during fall camp. The school now lists him as the co-starter at the Weakside Defensive End position and Strongside Defensive End position with Daelin Hayes and Jay Hayes respectively.

Back End of the Defense Stands Pat

Nyles Morgan and Drue Tranquill find themselves in the starting lineup at MIKE and ROVER. The WILL position is split between Greer Martini and Tevon Coney. Nick Watkins, Julian Love, Julian Elliott and Nick Coleman make up the back end of the defense.